

Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore

## Elements Common to the Action Alternatives

Hours of Operation – The NPS would follow Michigan state law to regulate hours of operation for PWCs at the national lakeshore and would prohibit PWC use from sunset to 8:00 a.m.

**Speed Limit** – PWCs would be permitted to operate at up to 55 mph (outside of flat-wake zones). Flat-wake speed would be required within 200 feet of the shoreline and travel perpendicular to the shoreline. Flat-wake speed also required in areas where the water is less than 2 feet deep, within 150 feet of another vessel, and within 100 feet of a moored or anchored vessel, shoreline, dock or raft, or any marked swimming area or person in the water.

**PWC Equipment and Safety** – PWC users would be required to follow Michigan state law and NPS general regulations pertaining to PWC safety, including proper use of personal floatation devices, possession of the PWC ignition safety switch while operating the PWC, and acquiring a boating safety certificate.

**PWC Operation and Behavior –** PWC operators would be required to operate PWCs in a reasonable and prudent manner at all times, and would be required to follow both Michigan state law and NPS general regulations.

**Launch Sites** – Sand Point is the only PWC launch point within the national lakeshore. Visitors could continue to launch at existing sites outside of the national lakeshore boundary and could ride PWCs into the national lakeshore.

**Vessel Decontamination** – To prevent the introduction or spread of aquatic invasive species into park waters, all watercraft must be decontaminated prior to launch into NPS-administered waters within the Lakeshore Zone (federally owned lands and waters, including the surface waters of Lake Superior).

**Improved Education and Outreach Program** – The NPS would implement an increased education and outreach program to inform visitors about PWC use and changes to the use of PWCs at Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore.

Phase-out of Carbureted Two-Stroke PWCs after Two
Years – The NPS would prohibit the use of carbureted twostroke engines at the national lakeshore after a two-year period.
The two-year period would begin immediately following the
publication of the final rule in the Federal Register.







