

921 Pennsylvania Avenue SE Suite 305 Washington, DC 20003-2141 202-543-3344 (office) 202-543-3507 (fax) office@anc6b.org

Executive Director Susan Eads Role

## OFFICERS

Chair *Brian Flahaven* 

Vice-Chair Ivan Frishberg

Secretary Nichole Opkins

Treasurer Brian Pate

Parliamentarian Philip Peisch

## COMMISSIONERS

SMD1VacantSMD2Ivan FrishbergSMD3Philip PeischSMD4Kirsten OldenburgSMD5Brian PateSMD6Nichole OpkinsSMD7Sara LovelandSMD8Chander JayaramanSMD9Brian FlahavenSMD10Francis Campbell

Peter May Chairman National Capital Memorial Advisory Commission 1100 Ohio Drive SW, Room 220 Washington, DC 20242

VIA E-MAIL: brandon\_bies@nps.gov

RE: Site Selection for Francis Marion Memorial

Dear Chairman May:

At its regularly scheduled, properly noticed meeting on September 9, 2014, with a quorum present, Advisory Neighborhood Commission (ANC) 6B voted 4-3-2 to send this letter supporting selection of Marion Park as the site for the Francis Marion Memorial, provided that (1) the memorial does not interfere with the children's playground and, therefore, is not placed on the western plot of the park; (2) funding for the long-term maintenance of the memorial is obtained in advance of its completion; (3) a clearly defined role for the community in the process is created from this point forward; and (4) the National Park Service takes a holistic approach to park spaces and their maintenance on Capitol Hill.

Please contact Susan Eads Role, ANC 6B's Executive Director, if you have questions or need further information. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Brian Flahaven Chair

September 11, 2014